Do blondes really have more fun?

My whole life I have loved being a blonde and never thought about changing my color.  My sophomore year of college is when I wanted to change up my hair. The process of adding more lowlights into my hair started in the beginning of 2013. Even though the last two years I have been adding more and more depth to my hair, this past January I finally dyed the majority of my hair brunette.

May 2012

May 2012

I was hesitant to go completely brunette, so I left my ends light to achieve the ombre look. The responses I received were mixed, either people loved the dark or didn’t care for it.  So I decided to become fully brunette and after 3 months I decided never again.

January 2015

January 2015

Although this experience was fun while it lasted, I enjoy being a blonde more. Dying your hair color is a fun to change up your look every once in a while. (because why not?)

These are the lessons I’ve learned through this process:

  1. It truly only matters what you think of yourself
  2. Do what makes you feel beautiful, confident and happy
  3. Pay the extra money to get your hair done by a professional** (I made the mistake recently and never again)
  4. Experiment with your hair while you can, college is a great time to try new styles and trends
  5. Embrace change
  6.  It’s hair, it grows back and can always be fixed (I wore large headbands 3 days straight lol)

Now with summer quickly approaching, it’s a great time to take a few risks and try something new.

Here are a few ideas:

  • add a pop of color (kylizzle’s blue hair for Chochella was fab)
  • add some extensions ( what better time for mermaid length hair than summer?)
  • go natural : lay off the heat and give your hair a break. Spritz in some sea salt spray for amazing beachy waves
  • embrace the messy bun: throw it up and you’re good it go
  • braid it up: braiding your hair is another great way to leave heat off your hair and out of your face (my personal favorite is a great messy fishtail
Kylie Jenner Via Instagram April 2015

Kylie Jenner Via Instagram April 2015

Messy Briad Via Pinterest

Messy Braid Via Pinterest

Leave a Reply

